Flower District & West 25th Street

Flower District occupies a small block of West 28th St between 7th Ave and Avenue of Americas. The area might be small, but once you’re there you feel like you’ve entered a colorful, lush garden – palm trees and exotic plants together with  roses, tulips and lillies are lined up along the pavement; and there are even more beautiful plants to be admired once you walk into any of the floral stores.  Whenever I’m in the area, I love walking through the Flower District, it’s just so lovely and relaxing (and it smells nice too!) :

Palm trees in the concrete jungle 🙂

Walking just three streets down from the Flower District, towards 23rd Street will take you to West 25th Street – which is one of my favourite, random NYC finds. As you can probably tell from my previous posts, I love antique and vintage stores – and W 25th street is full of them! In fact, this is where the Antiques Garage – a big vintage street market, takes place every weekend (I was told the place will be relocated as of next month but I don’t know where to). One of my favourite shops is Flea Market on 120 West 25th Street – it’s really is fun for browsing – I like the mix of old books, crystal decanters, 1960s hats and vintage jewellery, but don’t expect actual antiques  😉

This is what I bought there today..a cute pocket watch necklece from the 50s/60s…it was only $19! This is how it looks from the back:

Another nice shop is This’n’That Jewelry and Collectables, right next to Flea Market  on 124 West 25th. Walking around the store feels a bit like entering your grandmas closet..most of the vintage items are on the back – try not to be freaked out by some of them, like this mink scarf, with little furry legs dangling off it!

3 responses to “Flower District & West 25th Street

  1. It’s amazing! So colorful place occupies in the urban city. just like in wonderland. i love it, albeit i am allegic to pollen.
    BTW, the poket watch necklece is so beautiful. i like the back look. 19 dollar? the price is really worth it. 😀

  2. haha, if you’re allergic then you better avoid it! 😉 The neckle is awesome isn’t it – I bought a similar one at a flea market the other day, NYC is such an awesome place to shop for vintage stuff!

  3. My thoughts exactly!

Leave a comment