Rediscovering Newcastle

Here are some snaps I took today – I bought a new Nikon D3100 so I had to try it out! 🙂

Newcastle  is famous (or infamous, depending how you look at it!) for wild nights out involving a flurry of fake tan,  skimpy outfits and cheap drinks, and it’s pretty much considered the drinking capital of the UK. To be honest, I don’t think many people outside of the North East  realise that the city has much more to offer than bargain booze and fancy dress nights out. One of my favourite things about it is the architecture – Newcastle, especially the city centre and the Quayside (riverside), is a lovely mixture of 15th-19th century houses, crooked  Medieval-style streets and modern  buildings.  PERFECT for taking photos! :

Quayside [click photo to enlarge]

Quayside in colour 🙂

Grainger Town, Newcastle City Centre

7 responses to “Rediscovering Newcastle

  1. What cool photos! Those buildings are fantastic. Have fun with the D3100! 🙂

  2. Thanks, Im sure I will! 🙂

  3. Never knew Newcastle was that pretty. Must visit sometime. Love the last shot.

  4. thank you! If you ever come to Newcastle, make sure you visit Durham – its only 5 min away on the train and its even prettier!

  5. Love the 2nd B&W shot! I miss that city

  6. Newcastle was the beginning of my walk across the whole country, along Hadrian’s Wall: http://andreasmoser.wordpress.com/2011/06/12/hadrians-wall/

Leave a comment